Art · Personal · relationships

Rough Night

Last night I saw my romantic interest for the first time in what seemed like forever (in reality it was only around 5 days) and it was alright.

To be honest I haven’t felt like myself for a while so logically I know it isn’t going to feel the same – because he hasn’t changed, he’s still the same guy I invited into my bed 3 or so months ago.

He stayed the night which was nice, however at some ungodly hour (around 3 -4 am) something made a loud bang noise and my birds went mental in their cage, flapping around and what not. He leapt out of bed to see what it was, and then after that we both found it hard to get back to sleep.

Also, my bedroom window is right in front of streetlights and my body honestly wouldn’t know the difference between middle of the night or morning rays with those things there. I do often sleep with a mask over my eyes but sometimes I get sick of wearing it when it doesn’t sit right. I know this sounds weird, but its like my brain knows it’s not dark beyond my mask…

As I was leaving the mall today with a friend I decided to walk into the fabric shop and grab 3 metres worth of cheap black material to hang over the slatted blinds that do absolutely nothing to block out light (and I have no idea what would possess people to put them in their houses.)

When I got it home I ended up cutting it to fit the window but realised later (when I had recovered from the trauma that is going outside during Australian summertime) that I should have cut the fabric into two equal lengths and used those to cover the window vertically.

Now I have one bit that covers the whole window on the left side, and one bit that leaves about an inch gap on the right. I figure I will just cut off a small section from the left side and use my completely amature sewing skills to tack it on.

At the moment, however, it is doing an excellent job at reducing the amount of heat coming in from outside.

On Wednesday this week it is going to be 38 degrees. I’m really confused as to why it has to be that hot. Really. Come on, weather! I think I was kidding myself when I thought I didn’t need air con – I think the older you get the more you do actually need stuff like that, especially when you’re not feeling 100%.

Anyway, I’ll leave you with a picture of the painting I gave my father for Christmas.

IMG_1406

 

 

2 thoughts on “Rough Night

Leave a Reply

