Health

Green & Elephants

I’m not entirely sure how long it’s been since I’ve written here – the days just seem to be flying past. One minute it’s the 20th of October, the next it’s the 25th.

I visited my parents back home this week – my father was getting a heritage award for all the work he has done in my hometown – and I did enjoy my time, despite the horrible allergies. I actually couldn’t believe how green it was, I honestly can’t remember the last time I saw all the paddocks with a healthy layer of grass.

IMG_0800

When I got back to my city I felt pretty torn. Nothing quite like going back to a place where you know nothing is waiting for you. As I was sitting on the couch last night I realised exactly why I applied for an on-going position at my work. Even though I’d say I don’t really enjoy what I do, I’ve been there for 5 years, off and on contract, and I finally got into a rhythm, a regular reason to get out of bed in the morning. The team I worked with is now like a second family to me and I already know what it’s like to go back to being casual.

My anxiety has been relatively quiet. My romantic interest has taken me for two drives, even to his house, when I felt sick, and I never got to a point where I panicked. Anxiety was high, yes, but never panic.

Sick? Well, apparently I picked up the chicken pox again AND glandular fever. It is a weird sick feeling, knowing there is something not quite right, but not laid out flat on your back. Neither are strong enough to overpower my immune system, but my immune system is not strong enough to suppress them.

And let’s just say that allergies are NOT helping.

On the up side, I finally got started on a new painting. At this rate I’m going for at least one painting a year!

IMG_0787

It’s just the base outline, now comes the detail…

My best friend (a.k.a my ex) has left for his 3 month stint for work. I can’t tell yet if I miss him or not. I think I do. When I talk to him I definitely do.

Hope everyone out there is doing well!

Leave a Reply

