Anxiety · Personal

When Something’s Right, It’s Just Easy

There are a lot of stories of people who were rejected for their ideas only to finally break through eventually and have an impact on the world. I’m pretty sure everyone is aware of J.K. Rowling being rejected by many, many publishers before someone finally adopted Harry Potter.

It’s the adage of never giving up on your dreams.

However I’ve personally found that when something’s right it’s just easy.

I often wonder if these people just held off until the time was right, would they have faced the amount of rejection they did?

For example, among the many things I like to do with my time is draw and/or paint. It’s not something I intended to do for an income or a career, it’s just fun.

Recently I’ve had two people ask me to a) draw a picture of their dog and b) paint them a picture of a tiger (like I did with my lion) just from seeing my work sitting around. Not only that but they’ve offered to pay for it as well.

That’s not to say that I spend my life sitting around waiting for life to happen to me (although that’s kind of what I had to do when my Agoraphobia was around) – I mean, I had to actually draw in front of my co-worker and paint my lion in order for the people to see my work – but I find that pushing against something is a waste of time and energy. When something is right it just tends to unfold in the right way at the right time.

A lot of people close to me who have heard me sing and play ask, “why are you not a musician?” and I give them the only answer that I know 100% – “I’m not ready”, which roughly translates as, “the timing isn’t right.”

It’s not really something I can explain to people. To have a knowing of when to do things, when not to go ahead with something, to avoid a place or to make sure I’m where I need to be without even knowing the reason is an odd sensation.

It’s also one of the reasons why I don’t go out “dating” because I know when the timing is right I’ll just run into the next person I’m meant to be with.

I think everyone has this innate ability to just know, we tend to not be able to hear it because we’re stressed, angry, tired, or sad. I know that I ignored (or just couldn’t hear) the ease when I was crippled with anxiety.

Take the time out today to think about all the easy things in your life. What just magically turns up for you in your life? What do you never have to push against, it just arrives when it needs to?

Leave a Reply

