Personal

When Things Just Happen: The ‘Give Me Back My Curtains’ story

A week or so ago I was awoken in the morning by some older gentleman claiming they were at my apartment to swap over some curtains. I stood at the door, half asleep, with what I assume was a perplexed look on my face, and said, “I’m sorry, but I don’t know anything about this.”

Naturally, I didn’t let them in. In hindsight I probably should have called my leasing agent and asked, but like I said, I had just been woken up and my brain wasn’t switched on.

Later in the day I receive a call from said agent claiming they’d “sent me a message” and it was “logged on their system” as me having received it. I told them I didn’t receive anything and suggested that perhaps this sort of thing should be discussed via phone rather than SMS.

Anyway, we rescheduled for Thursday next week.

Well, today is Thursday, and like clockwork I heard a knock at my door at 9:30 am. I let the two gentleman inside and they went about taking old curtains down and putting new ones up.

However, the ones for the lounge room weren’t cut right… and so now I have two curtains which don’t cover the giant, glass windows. I don’t mind if a little light comes in, but we are now in the cold, dark depths of Winter in my city and it gets crazy cold here; it was -10 the other day, and -7 this morning.

Now I have all these gaps that will let the cold in… but that’s not the worst of it.

After the men waltzed into my bedroom I went to the kitchen to make myself a cup of tea. Then, while shoving some clothes into the washing machine, I noticed one of the men carrying out the front door not just the bedroom curtain BUT THE ENTIRE CURTAIN ROD AS WELL.

At this point the men are packing up their things. I looked in the bedroom and saw that now only the slatted blinds remained.

“Excuse me. Do you know if the owner is going to put up a different set of curtains in the bedroom?”

The man stood with a perplexed look on his face. “I’m not sure – we’re just doing what we were told – she said take the curtain down in the bedroom so she can use it in her own house.”

At this point I’m thinking, hang on, can this happen?

Nevermind that slat blinds keep little to no light out and I have a street light right outside my bedroom window, they are hopeless when it comes to keeping the cold out too.

I didn’t see the part in my contract where it said, “owner reserves the right to remove curtains willy-nilly from where ever they see fit and not replace them with something else.”

I sent a passive aggressive email to my leasing agent so I’ll see what happens.

Anyone else have something totally random happen to them today?

2 thoughts on “When Things Just Happen: The ‘Give Me Back My Curtains’ story

  1. When I was dorming, I was woken up one day at 6am by a janitor knocking on my door with a hammer. He left dents all over the door, and kept saying I signed the log book downstairs for a janitor to fix something. Which I never did.
    The next year, I got woken up 2 days in a row by guys replacing light fixings (just the covers). They replaced it with one that didn’t fit right, so if the door slammed (which was heavy and slammed on it’s own if you didn’t gently shut it) the fixture fell down. There was nothing wrong with the other fixtures. They were exactly the same.

Leave a Reply

