Personal

Are We Really In Control?

I’ve had déjà vu twice today.

I am now on high alert.

Whenever I experience déjà vu it is usually followed by a change in my life. Most of the time, I have it gradually over the course of a week or so. A little bit of déjà vu here, a little bit of déjà vu there, and then a few days later I find myself face-to-face with an important decision that changes the course of my life in some way.

I used to label it as “something bad is going to happen” because that’s how it seemed to me at the time. However, hindsight has taught me that those changes were all for the best, even if they hurt at the time (either physically or emotionally.)

However now I have had the pleasure of experiencing déjà vu twice in the same day. What fresh hell is this? What on Earth is going to happen that requires me to be so forcefully drawn into this day?

Déjà vu is never an important moment in time for me. Once today I was staring at a whole bunch of desks when I experienced it. The other was when I was sitting outside and eating my lunch – staring at my gluten-free wraps.

But it’s not just the moment that is the same: it’s also the feelings and the thoughts I’m having. It’s a very odd thing indeed.

People used to say to me, “well you have been here before” if I said it at school, or in a place I’d been millions of times before… but it’s not the same as just physically being there. It’s a multi-sensory event.

I read somewhere that people experience déjà vu because we all live our lives half a second in the past… but it wouldn’t really explain how we caught up that half a second for a brief moment only to be shoved back to half a second again…

Although, interestingly, the fellow whom conducted the experiment to figure this out came up with the conclusion that we all have no “free will” because our subconscious (or the part of us that lives half a second before our conscious does) was always in control.

Makes you think.

Anyway, wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “Are We Really In Control?

Leave a Reply

