Anxiety · Personal

Do Tell

So, I was driving a friend to work when she turned to me and said, “oh, and guess what? I got asked out yesterday.”

I piped up and said, “really? So did I.”

“Do tell,” she said.

I started to explain what had happened when a giant smirk appeared on her face. It turns out that the fellow who asked for my number the other day was asking for a lot of girls’ numbers.

It’s something I’m definitely not used to – I think in Australia we are a lot more forward about our dating and we only sort of do it “one-at-a-time” style. If we don’t like you, we’ll forgo dating you.

This guy grew up in America, so I suppose it is a different kind of dating culture there? I’m not sure. I do watch a lot of T.V. shows that mention “making it official” or having “the talk” where you decide you aren’t going to see other people. Here, it’s pretty much taken as read that if you are dating someone you aren’t seeing any other people.

Anyway, we joked about the whole thing in the car and wondered if he had asked for any other numbers at work. I wouldn’t put it past him.

So it’s interesting how the intuition you have about someone can be spot on – not that I was interested in dating anyway. I’ve only just ended my relationship!

However, it did shine a spotlight on anxiety that is still lurking silently below the surface. Meeting new people has always been exciting to me, but especially dating new people. It’s probably all stemming from my first serious relationship where I was so excited to see him that I practically had a panic attack every day.

Something I’ll have to work on with my acupuncturist me thinks.

Hope everyone has a wonderful day!

One thought on “Do Tell

Leave a Reply

