Personal

What To Name A Lady

So I’m pretty sure my violin (from the previous post) is a lady. She sings like a lady. I had to cut my finger nails so that I could play the strings properly, and all these memories of my mother cutting my nails when I was a girl came flooding back – I remember why I always had to keep them short!

I only played her for about 5 minutes, after that time my arm began to get tired and my fingers started hurting. I just have to practice every day so I get callus on my fingers. The fellow I took it to this morning said that it was “the cheapest violin you can get” and that the holes for the tuning pegs were a little too big, so the strings might fall out of tune. Also, because it is so polished, the bridge (the part that holds the strings up) might slip around, so make sure to check it every now and then.

I don’t really mind, to tell you the truth. She still sounds amazing and I am happy to have her!

When I posted a picture of her on Instagram a friend of mine messaged me to tell me about a Chinese stringed group he was in, and that they were always looking for new members. In the past I probably would have said no thanks, because it doesn’t really have anything to do with the kind of music I play, but new me is pretty keen! I’ve learned 2 very important lessons through my anxiety:

1) Constantly expanding on your comfort zone is key to feeling more self-confident, and;

2) Opportunities come in all shapes and sizes – you never know where a path is going to lead you!

As soon as he gets his instrument off a lady I get to pick it up and have a go.

 

In other news, my partner and I got on much better yesterday – I went to the gym with him, and I’m really beginning to enjoy it. I have enough energy and stamina to be able to handle it and it makes me feel a whole lot better. I’ve also started helping him with business type stuff, so I guess that takes the pressure off.

On New Year’s Day I messaged my ex-boyfriend asking if he wanted to catch up. He said he was going to be away for 2 of the following weekends, so he would get back to me by the third. It’s now the 5th weekend. I’m not entirely sure if I should even bother. It seems pretty clear that I’m not really a part of his life anymore so why try and push it?

 

Anyway, any ideas on what I should name my beautiful new violin??

Leave a Reply

