Personal

I Don’t Miss Social Media

Last night I managed to finish my goal list, making some interesting discoveries along the way (such as realising I’m extremely rusty when it comes to music notation,) and so, as my reward, I allowed myself back onto social media.

I’d have to say that I really don’t miss it – if anything, I felt a little let down. Nothing really changes, the only thing that did was my inbox being spammed by FaceBook telling me “you’re missing out on what (so-and-so) said about (what-ever-and-blah)” and “why aren’t you logging onto FaceBook?!” When I checked my Instagram and other accounts I was underwhelmed and I don’t even miss playing Words With Friends.

I feel a lot more enthused about getting tasks done, it’s not such a hassle. Today I managed to find a place in my city that rents out violins and cellos – after, of course, me sending out 3 emails to people on GumTree about their violins for sale – so if I remember how to play well (in essence, it doesn’t sound like a cat mewing for its supper) I’ll be able to suss out the string parts of my music.

I guess with social media there comes a great sense of connection that also is rather detaching. After a while it becomes a habit of living through our screens and then it feel a little odd when they aren’t there. It’s almost like that episode of The Simpsons where all the kids have been inside watching Itchy and Scratchy every afternoon and as soon as it goes off the air they walk outside rubbing their eyes. Once I cut out social media, and I don’t watch T.V. anyway, it frees up a lot of time and it’s just a question of what I want to get a little bit better at.

No anxiety, really. My acupuncturist fixed up the spacey feeling I’ve had for the past couple of days, but before that I was able to drive into the “city” and grab something I needed – something I haven’t done for a couple of years. I woke this morning feeling a little groggy so I’d really like to find out what is making me feel that way – either it is the medication or something else

Leave a Reply

