Personal

Dreaming Of The Same Year

I’ve been having some weird dreams lately – probably not what you would define as “weird” but very strange to me. Usually my dreams are wild and crazy but over the past week or so they’ve had a lot to do with daily life. No far off worlds, no wacky creatures, no wild landscapes, and actually, now that I think of it, no one “new” – mostly it has been my partner and I just doing day-to-day things.

Usually dreams are my escape from the norm of daily existence. At least if my day is boring, you’d better believe my sleep-time will be exciting… so I’m not entirely sure what’s going on.

So, it’s a New Year tomorrow!

I don’t usually celebrate it… the last thing I remember doing was going out for dinner with my partner and some friends, watching the local 9 PM fireworks, and then going to bed – I think that’s because I had to work the next day.

I’m uncertain if the lack of celebration is because I don’t like partying, or I just don’t like the options available as I get older. I remember enjoying it when I was in high school, with really good friends. It didn’t matter to us that we sat around eating junk food and watching weird things on T.V, laughing and chatting away, baking desserts and taking showers with our clothes on ’cause it was so darn hot – we had the time of our lives.

It seems that as I got older, everyone wanted to drink alcohol and party, usually in large crowds or loud venues. Perhaps I just need to get out there and meet some people with the same crowdless values as me, who enjoy connecting, playing games and laughing. I guess it’s all about the company.

This past year was a hard one – but I think it was for a lot of people.

I’ve learned a great deal about myself, and to really, truly, love and appreciate me. I’m not 100% there yet, but I really have loved the process of everything over the past 12 months.

I never thought I would ever say this, but I’m looking forward to goal-setting over the next couple of weeks. I’m not going to lie – I have been very blessed in this life, and things have sort of just “happened” without me putting in much effort. I realise now that in order for MY dreams to come true I have to put in place some goals to reach.

I can’t believe I used to be so upset and depressed that I wasn’t a musician! I’m talking so down in the dumps that I was losing sight of everything. How did I expect to reach my dreams if I wasn’t even sharing my music with others! It’s just so perplexing! It’s weird because at the time I knew I was being illogical but it just wasn’t sinking in.

Anyway, here’s to a great New Year!

Leave a Reply

