Personal

Everything To Do With Houses

I’m going to be pretty brief with this post, because I have an inspection at some point today (from the message left on my phone, most likely in about an hour) and I don’t really want to be here for it. I’ve decided to get out of the house and do something, whether that’s something new or just go down to the lake and chill out.

This is actually the first time I haven’t run myself ragged trying to make the house spotless for an inspection. Maybe it’s because I’m still too sick to waste my energy on making sure specks of dust aren’t visible anywhere, or rather it’s just because I’m too worn out and tired to care anymore. I mean, there are no holes in the walls, the carpet is still clean, no damage has been done – so what’s the problem?

I had a weird conversation with my partner last night – weird because I sat him down to talk about us NOW, what we could do NOW, day-to-day stuff to get out of this funk, and he launched into a giant soliloquy about how he wants to save money to buy his own house I was either for that, or against it. I say soliloquy because there is just no talking to him once he gets like that.

I told him, that’s all well and good, but I was talking about our relationship NOW, not what’s going to happen when our lease runs out.

Then he laughed and asked why I brought it up then, to which I reminded him that he was the one that started talking about it by suggesting that an easy fix to regaining our excitement back was for when the lease runs out here, I could live by myself again and he could move in with his parents.

I guess we’re all guilty of thinking too far ahead and not living in the moment.

Leave a Reply

