Anxiety · Health · Personal

Family, Forests and (Fucking) Panic Attacks

Ok… Ok…

Ok…

Ok.

 

FINALLY able to sit down!

But my break away has been good; it’s been refreshing and I no longer feel like pulling out my own hair.

 

Hang on, my computer really needs to be restarted; it’s crawling along at snail pace.

 

Ah, that’s better. No longer waiting an eternity for it to do things.

Check out my father’s Kale bush!

IMG_4088

That thing’s a doosy!

And here’s Quackers being reserved and cautious about leaving her pen.

IMG_4090

Still an absolute cutie.

And the field of daisies, as promised!

daisies

 

It was really nice to be with my family again – I think that’s why I love Christmas so much. Being with my family is like being with any other family. There are still arguments and we get grumpy from time to time, but there’s as strong sense of looking out for each other. I also miss their hospitality – I don’t get any of that here. They’re always asking if you’re hungry, or want a cup of tea, if you want to do anything or go anywhere. My partner just sits on the couch and plays video games unless I tell him I want to go somewhere. EVEN THEN it’s a struggle to pry him away!

Anyway, the road trip to Sydney was pretty quick. Now they have all the bypasses we don’t have to drive through all the suburbs to get to where we need to go.

Once we got to Sydney and started walking to the hospital entrance my mind decided that was a great time to think about panic attacks. I disagreed. There was a bit of a battle for a while but I came out victorious.
In the end I just don’t have the energy to have a panic attack, you know? And what would that solve? Sure, I’m not going to feel comfortable in a new city, especially one as big as Sydney, but how is a panic attack going to help anyone?

Besides, we were there to see Grandma. It’s not all about you, anxiety!

Grandma looked, well, old. She’s 92.

Other than that, I thought she looked fantastic! Still sharp, witty and cracks jokes. I forgot to tell her what I went there to tell her – that I loved her very much, that we all did – instead I just told her she looked great! Isn’t it funny how you could forget something so simple?

After visiting Grandma, our uncle, who lives with my Grandparents and looks after them (bless him) guided our family back to their house for a cup of tea and to see Grandpa.

He is also old. 94 this year. GO TEAM!

He, also, is fine. He can feed himself and drink tea, although he does need a walker to get around. Again, he is all there – we all had a chat to him before we left. I have never spoken to my Grandpa by myself. For one thing, he is a little hard of hearing, but he has always been very stern when I was growing up and for a kid who is shy, well, not a great mix. Again, I told him he looked great and I was so happy to see him.

I then took a wander around their backyard. It’s a little overgrown, not really how I remember it, but still very beautiful.

 

IMG_4110
My favourite tap in all the world. I had forgotten all about it but as soon as I saw it, I pretty much relived my childhood right then and there!

IMG_4097IMG_4099IMG_4100IMG_4102IMG_4104 IMG_4106

 

After all that, we jumped in the car and my brother drove us all home. What a big day!

The next day my mother drove me back to my city and I felt like I’d been sitting down for years. My partner was a little stressed when I got home so it wasn’t at all pleasant. Once we sorted all that out, I could relax. I finally went to the mall to spent my $100 gift card that I received for Christmas last year, and my partner helped me.

I FINALLY found one of these tree, light, things. I’ve wanted one ever since I laid eyes on one but they were always too expensive. This one is small, light and only cost me $5!

 

IMG_4113

 

I brought my partner a game for $15 and we spent the rest of the night playing it – it was quite fun, a bit like trivial pursuit but with an Ancient Egyptian theme.

 

So there you have it! It’s a little sad that we live so far away from our family, but I guess that’s what happens.

 

Leave a Reply

