Agoraphobia · Anxiety · Health · Personal

Just Drop It

I don’t understand it but I guess, logically, it’s never going to make sense – and I that’s probably why I feel the way I do.

I feel like one more time I have to convince myself not to have a panic attack, not to get anxious, I may lose it. Lose what? Well, I have no idea. I am far, far beyond crying and I know I’m not going to go crazy, but I sure as heavens feel like it.

I wish there was a way I could just drop it, move forward, easily, freely – like all those new-age teachers promise it can be. It’s been years now, and I’ve done so much work, come so far, been through so much, I refuse for the rest of my life to be this way. 6 years since my first, unbelievably terrible panic attack that caused Agoraphobia, and 3 years since the second attack that again left me house-bound. Twice in my life I’ve had to rebuild myself from the ground up and it seems like nothing I do can cut the cord.

Unfortunately, because I have done the work and I do have days where I feel invincible, the lows are so much lower now. Painfully low. As if you met the love of your life and then they were taken from you the next day – only, it keeps happening, like being stuck in an awful groundhog day like dream.

A man that I work with returned from holidays yesterday, we were finally on the same day. Ordinarily I would be thrilled to chat with him but I couldn’t even stand to pretend like I cared how he was. Of course I do care, I know that deep down, but I didn’t have the energy to play the “how are you, I’m fine” game so I kept walking away. I know now I’ve probably planted the seeds of him thinking I don’t like him, or that I, perhaps, have become a bitch. Sad, really.

I passed another of my co-workers as he came into work, and he told me that he had been offered a position at a great workplace starting next year. Of course, I was proud of him – I am happy for him, he looked so fulfilled and joyous – but I got such a stabbing pain in my heart as I smiled and congratulated him. It seems everyone keeps moving forward and here I am trying to convince myself, a 28-year-old woman, that I don’t have to run away from the “scary workplace”. Wooooooo *ghost noises*

In some ways I wish my mental illness was an external thing – perhaps a person. I am strong and there’s no way I would put up with someone else doing what anxiety does to me – I would be so far rid of them we wouldn’t even be on the same planet anymore.

But there’s something about fighting something you can’t see, that you don’t understand.

I just don’t get why it’s still here, why, if I’m ready to be free, it can’t just drop it.

I’m ready. Why can’t it be?

One thought on “Just Drop It

Leave a Reply

