Humor · Personal

Wow, Giant Corporation, Are You Sure You Can Spare It?

Good Morning, Internet!

I woke to an email from a certain large supermarket chain saying, “Hey, random citizen, we noticed it’s your birthday some time this month. To celebrate we’re throwing you a huge birthday bash at our expense!”

I’m just kidding, but that would be cool, right?

It basically offered me a discount of a mere $15 off my next online shopping order IF it was above $150. Nevermind the fact that I would still have to pay the $9 delivery fee, resulting in a discount of $6 in total. Wow, giant corporation, are you sure you can spare it?

Yes, this month, the month of August, the month I used to get so excited about, is here – and I will finally be 28 years old. For the majority of this year I have already called myself 28, perhaps to get myself settled in the idea, but more because 27 just seemed like a really odd number. I’ve made a list of things I’m going to do for myself (once I get my tax money back) including:

  • Get a mobile hairdresser to come over and have my hair done FINALLY. I may not be able to keep my wits about me when it comes to salons but I’m not going to spend one more day with brassy orange hair, blonde ends and light brown roots!
  • Go for a much needed massage! My partner and I have had to pay a lot of bills without any funds saved away for such an occasion, so there has been absolutely NO income for things of this nature and I desperately need one.
  • Make this home more my own. Yay, rhyming! I want to decorate my rental property more to reflect my own taste. At the moment most of the stuff hanging around is my partner’s, and he only put it there because, and I quote, “you didn’t put anything there.” I’m a real minimalist when it comes to decorating and I don’t mind if there is a space with nothing there – my partner is the opposite, he needs to fill every inch of space with stuff.

So I’m just getting all psyched up for work today – I only have to go in for 2 hours but with the randomness that is my body lately I never know what’s going to happen!

Hope everyone has a lovely day.

2 thoughts on “Wow, Giant Corporation, Are You Sure You Can Spare It?

Leave a Reply

