Personal · Relationship

Scholarships and Relationships

Good Day!

I have spent most of my time today writing up an application for a musical scholarship. It is due in on Thursday, and like any potential student of life, I am leaving it until the last minute. Not the music end of it, mind you, I always work on that… but I have to answer a couple of questions that I had no idea how to answer; including, but not limited to, “What is your 5 year business plan?” I had to stop myself from writing, “play a whole bunch of music and see what sticks!”

It’s been quite good, thinking about these other areas of a musical career that wouldn’t have even crossed my mind otherwise. See, I’m learning already!

That’s right, folks, I’m finally taking steps to perhaps realise a career in music. To tell you the truth, I don’t have to be a star… my aspiration at this point is to just wake up every morning and go to a job I love. Of course I would love to be playing my own music, but we’ll just take it one step at a time.

No word yet on the job I recently applied for. She said I would probably hear back by either today (Tuesday) or tomorrow… so tomorrow it is!

On the relationship front, I managed to sit my partner down (well, I sat down on the bench and he paced the kitchen cooking his lunches for the next day) and convince him to open up a little. We are both very stubborn people and if we don’t want to do something, we’ll fight tooth and nail not to. I realised that in both of us ignoring our problems in the relationship we weren’t going to get anywhere. We have to be adult about this right?

Or perhaps, we have to be childish about it. You know children – if they don’t like something, if they have a problem with you, you will definitely hear about it!

I can’t really recall what was said, but I’m pretty sure everything was taken on board, by BOTH of us. For a relationship I was so proud of communication wise, I realised that we weren’t communicating too much about the really important things. Sure, things had been thrown around in jest, and we argue at times, but when that kind of thing becomes commonplace – warniiiing!

Anyway, I’m off to see a movie with partner in about 30 minutes.

 

 

Leave a Reply

