Advice

How To Get Things Done

My friend had her baby! This is the same friend that randomly messaged me out of the blue about 2 weeks ago. It’s a healthy baby boy! The sex of the baby was actually a surprise to them, and by that I mean they decided not to know until he was born. I’m very happy for her.

Yesterday I wore myself out!

I tell you, if you ever need to get things done I recommend making a list!

But not just any list!

An over-simplified list!

There is some kind of psychological thing that goes along with lists, but I’m not going to bother going into that. Basically, you write down a whole bunch of things you want to get done, and then crossing them off the list gives your brain a dose of good-feeling chemicals. Ta-da!

So what do I mean when I say, over-simplified?

Well, instead of writing down a task that covers a whole area, break it down into as many tasks as you can think of that you could cross off. For example:

  • Clean bedroom

Verses…

  • Make bed
  • Tidy desk
  • Put away clothes
  • Pick up things off the floor
  • Vacuum floor
  • Put dirty clothes in laundry

… and so forth.

The more you reward yourself for getting something done, the more likely you are to keep going. It also breaks up mammoth tasks into small steps you don’t feel overwhelmed by – especially if you’re under the weather or don’t have a lot of stamina.

By the time I finished my 20-odd list, and stopped for a moment, I realised that I was absolutely drained of energy! It was around 5:30 pm and thankfully my partner wasn’t getting home for at least an hour so I was able to take a quick nap on the couch. It was actually a very nice nap – I didn’t fall asleep, but just being able to rest after all that was heaven.

So, if you want to get something done, make a list!

 

 

One thought on “How To Get Things Done

Leave a Reply

