Anxiety · Happiness

What’s At The Base Of Your Anxiety?

I just wanted to throw that question out there in the hopes that we can really take a moment to stop and understand why we feel the way we do.

This is not just for those who have a long history of anxiety and/or panic, but to anyone going through a situation they find anxiety-provoking.

Take a moment out of your day to understand yourself.

Why do I feel the way I do?

What do I think about myself that’s creating such a feeling inside?

What is it about this moment or situation that makes me view it with only anxiety-coloured glasses?

Personally, to get really raw with you, I found that most of my anxiety stemmed from trying to drag every single little piece of who I was with me on my journey to becoming who I am now. In essence – the past me contradicted who I wanted to be.

I can’t be strong, independent, loved and worthy if I still hold onto memories where I felt weak, dependent, unsure, unloved and unworthy, among many other things. I don’t believe the two can co-exist together.

Just as I cannot be happy with who I am now while thinking of any possible future I may have. In thinking about who I could be really puts me in a bad state of viewing who I am in this moment.

The next time that you feel anxious, take the opportunity to find the underlying reason for it and then make the effort to accept it, make peace with it, and then choose something else for yourself.

Being happy with who you are doesn’t have to be a be-all-end-all state – it’s always moving, always changing, and the beauty of it is you get to decide how you want to feel about yourself. If you change to something you don’t like, change it again! There’s no end to the possibilities.

 

Leave a Reply

