Uncategorized

Land Sick

Yes, apparently there is such a thing and it has a fancy French name – Mal de Debarquement syndrome.

The first night on the cruise ship I had a mild to medium case of sea sickness. It mostly just affected my stomach – but then again, what doesn’t? As the trip went on my body gradually got used to the swaying and rocking until I forgot I was at sea (unless I was sitting in the Marque – then you couldn’t ignore it.)

When I finally made it back home and into my own non-rocking bed (that I’d been dreaming about on the boat) I came down with a little bit of a cold. My nose blocked up a bit, my throat was sore, but nothing that would really stop any day to day activity.

However I kept waking in the morning feeling “off” – my center is no longer there, my body keeps wanting to move and sway, I have to put concentration into picking up objects and it’s a lot easier to just lay down.

It didn’t occur to me that I might be land sick until I remembered a conversation with one of the staff on board.

“With some people it effects their balance – they can’t stand up or sometimes even walk around.”

We were talking about sea sickness at the time, but it just clicked with me! So I jumped on the computer and sure enough you can suffer from land sickness after being on a cruise ship! There’s one thing they don’t tell you about!

So I basically now I just have to wait it out. I’m wearing my acupressure bands and I’ll go outside in the sun soon to wiggle my toes in the dirt and ground myself.

Perhaps if I just ignore it like I did the rocking boat it will be over sooner!

IMG_3377

Leave a Reply

