Health · Personal · Relationship · Stress

Why Can’t I Run In The House?

I was thinking of writing a post about the things you are told when you’re younger that don’t really make sense until you’re older. For example, your parents keep telling you to turn off the lights/game console/tv when you’re finished using them. Little do you know at the time that there is something called power that your parents pay for.

But I couldn’t really think of a lot of examples to form a whole post. That is until yesterday afternoon.

Something every child is told, pretty much every where, is “no running” – no running by the pool, no running on the road, no running down the hill, and most importantly, no running in the house. Especially if there are slippery floors. Well, why did I think of this particular rule yesterday?

I was running in the house. On a slippery floor. In my socks.

Do you know what happened next?

I slipped over. And it wasn’t the graceful kind of slipping over either. My butt didn’t break my fall – my face did. You are reading the post of a person who now has 3 stitches in her chin.

When I hit the floor, I saw stars and my partner said I didn’t move for a little while. He said he was expecting tears – but I was in a state of shock. You ever hear someone say, “all of a sudden I was on the ground”? Well, that’s what was going through my mind. How in the world did I get down here?

My partner helped me up – he said my chin was bleeding. When I held it with my fingers, he said, “Oh, you need stitches. Come on.”

So off we went, in the car, me still shocked. My partner took me to his doctors surgery instead of the hospital. I’m glad he did, because it was Sunday afternoon and you’re always waiting for ages at hospital. We got pushed up the line at the doctors and before you knew it, I was laying on a table, still quite dazed, getting my chin seen to.

After I arrived home, I had lunch with my parents. They had come over to take me back to my hometown. I am supposed to be going to the dentist today but since I can barely open my mouth to eat, we all thought it was a good idea to give that a miss.

My partner, bless him, purified my lunch of tuna and vegetables so I didn’t have to chew.

As the afternoon wore on (it was about 4:30 by this stage) I began to feel other places on my body that had broken my fall, namely my right hip. I tried to watch a movie but my brain was still having a hard time computing. My father asked if the doctor had checked for concussion and I said no. He had a look in my eyes and said I was fine, so I wasn’t worried about it. I did, however, have to lay down for an hour.

When I got up my partner and I ordered some Indian food for dinner because the chicken is always really tender. I mostly used my tongue to get food into my mouth – I am a slow eater by nature, but now I am turtle pace.

My partner then graced me with all the details of what the inside of my neck looked like. You’d think that would put me off dinner, but no. I also had to take antibiotics – something that just does not mix with me. Last time I took them was for a possible bowel infection, and the last night had me vomiting uncontrollably. I actually still have to take them, 4 times a day until they run out. I’m already feeling nauseous.

Finally, I went to bed at about 8:30. I woke a few times in the night feeling a little sick, had a couple of dreams (one of which I was a super soldier) and woke at 7;30 to my partner checking if I needed him to stay home today to look after me. I said I should be fine, and I think I am, just a little worse for wear.

You know what the really odd thing is?

The whole time this was happening to me, I was having deja vu. Deja vu is weird when you’re reliving a moment that doesn’t seem to have much relevance, but having it when you’ve done something major like this is really, really weird. I was also having flashbacks of a dream I’d had that very morning too. Now you can maybe understand why I was feeling so dazed. I knew what was happening to me in real life, but I also had deja vu and dream memories going on at the same time.

I think that’s actually what stopped me from feeling sorry for myself.

I have deja vu quite a lot leading up to an event I really can’t ignore (re: stitches in a chin) and it sort of makes me feel like it was something that was going to happen anyway. The reason? Pfft, I don’t know. I never said it was logical.

Lastly, I feel quite humbled by the whole experience.

I mean, here I am, sitting day in day out, worried about small things, big things, three bags full of things. I waste a lot of my day wishing, daydreaming. I spend too much of my time in society wondering if I’m wearing the right things in public when yesterday I didn’t even care less that I had a blunt trauma wound on my face. Granted it was probably just the chemicals running through my body after the accident, but I wasn’t so out of it that I couldn’t notice just how much of a whinger I’ve been.

For example, I’ve been too hard on my partner. I’ve been picking out all the things he doesn’t do in my head rather than the things he does. However yesterday, he was just wonderful. It’s a pity stitches in my chin was the reason for him being so lovely, but whatever.

So, that’s me for a little while.

A very sore young lady with a very tough little head.

I get the stitches out on Friday.

4 thoughts on “Why Can’t I Run In The House?

    1. I think it’s because I realise things could have been a lot worse. When I think back, I hit the ground pretty hard, so the fact that I only have 3 stitches and 2 bruises is pretty awesome. Maybe the floor knocked some wisdom into me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

