Art · Happiness · Lifestyle · Musings · Photos

When Life Gives You Pens…

Draw on the tablecloth!

20120624-153602.jpg

I went to a surprise 50th birthday last night, and the brother-in-law turned up at our table in a bright green wig holding a pen. He was signing all the tables “happy birthday” and was an eccentric soul. Then he gave the pen to my mother.

“Give it a go!”

“No, I couldn’t,” my mother said.

“How about you? Go on!”

He placed the pen in front of me.

“Nah.”

“You’ve got to live dangerously. Open up to the world a little.”

And with that, he darted off, leaving the pen right there in front of me.

So, I started to draw. This style of drawing is something I love doing but haven’t done in a long time. After a while, everyone at my table was commenting on it (which I find very uncomfortable) and when I got up to leave, someone suggested I sign it.

So I did. There were laughs and we pulled our jackets on and wandered out the function room.

Now I think, is it in the bin? Did somebody take it? I guess I’ll never know.

I love it when things like this happen in life.

I’m currently reading Practical Miracles for Mars & Venus by John Gray. He is the same author who wrote Men are from Mars, Woman are from Venus which I’ve never read, however this book stood out like a sore thumb in the library. (My god, how I’ve missed the library!)

As far as I can’t tell it’s about believing you have more control over life – living as if you were going to die type thinking, except far more expertly explained. I look forward to curling up by the fire and reading.

All good things to you.

Artful

9 thoughts on “When Life Gives You Pens…

  1. Libraries are wonderful places. I thought that even before I became a researcher. My only regret, traveling so far from home, is that book don’t travel well. They are too heavy. Good thing there are libraries.
    All good things to you too. You deserve them.

      1. I’m the one who should be embarrassed – I am such a word person that I don’t see the visual stuff immediately – so sorry!

    1. I know what you mean. I was such a pleaser when I was young – in hindsight I wish I was more like my brother. Reckless, obtuse, and daring. But, as you said, maybe I still can be!

Leave a Reply

